top of page
Search
  • dear lady

Get the Look: Summer Blues

Ciao beauty babes! Although the weather has been fidgety lately, it seems that we are in for a nice hot summer ahead! I find that some people are hesitant to explore colour when it comes to makeup, but I am here to show you just how fun (and cheap) it can be! I really urge all of you gals (and guys!) to put on a brave face and experiment with makeup that you usually shy away from. Yesterday, I applied makeup on a dear friend of mine. Typically, she wears very little (and might I say still looks stunning) - however, she was pleasantly surprised to find that she really loved the summer look I had created for her! Take a peek...

Hot, right? Of course right.

The point I am trying to make is that you never know until you try. Too many people say "Red lipstick doesn't suit me..." NEWSFLASH! You probably haven't worn it enough to get used to it! Nevertheless, I am going to share with you a few key products needed to recreate this fabulous finished product that is Ashleigh.

Now, if you are simply 'experimenting' with makeup, I understand that you probably don't want to spend a fortune on something you will only wear now and again. This is perfectly fine! The items used in this application were not name brand, nor costly.

Let's begin -

Eyebrows: Essence Eyebrow Pencil(s)

These bad boys can be picked up at any Shoppers Drug Mart and are under $5!!! They come in three shades: light, medium and dark. I used the medium shade to fill in Ashleigh's eyebrows and accentuate the arch. Although they are a pencil formula, they are very soft and apply without tugging or pulling. Simply shape brows with the attached brush and fill! An easy, hassle-free way to quickly build and shape.

Eyeshadow: NYX Cosmetics "Love Affair with Louis" Palette

While shopping at Target, I picked up this small palette. I had questioned whether or not I would be impressed since I had never purchased any NYX cosmetics before. For under $10, this palette was a dream to work with. The pigment was decent and the formula was very easy to blend (even on top of an eyeshadow primer). These mini-palettes come in an array of colours for a low cost. A must have if you are looking to try something new, without breaking the bank.

Eyeliner: L’Oréal Infallible Liner 24H

This product is a steal. For under $15, you are getting a gel liner WITH a brush. If you're looking at this thinking, "uh... I don't know if I could apply that" - think again. This product applies with ease! I would even go as far as saying that this style of liner is easier to apply that your typical liquid pen. The brush is ultra-fine, making it easy to achieve any type of cat-eye you desire. Although it is a gel, the formula will stay on 24 hours, smudge free. Available at Shoppers Drug Mart.

Lashes: Kiss Ever-Ez Lashes

These lashes can be found at Wal-Mart and are under $15 for 5 pairs. Not only are they always the perfect size, but they are also human hair! You will however need to buy lash glue separately. I would recommend the Ardell duo lash adhesive as it simply works the best. That product can be found at Shoppers Drug Mart.

__________

There you have it beauty lovers! The secret products needed to create this fabulous look. If you have any questions about other products used in this application, simply shoot me an email via the "About Me" page on my website.

Thanks for reading,

dear lady

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page