top of page
Search
  • dear lady

Spotlight: Derma MD

Hello my lovely followers! I know, it has literally been months. If you read my last post, you probably know that I have taken on a new job with Benefit Cosmetics and have been loving every minute of it! Unfortunately, it has kept me quite busy to say the least. I am thrilled to be back in the swing of things and bring you lots of exciting posts throughout the rest of 2016. I was lucky enough to be contacted by a company that works to provide an evolving skincare line that is dedicated to correcting specific problems in order to achieve optimal results. Today, I will be talking about some of my favourite products from this impressive line known as Derma MD. Before we start, let's first read about the company and its product philosophy.

An Introduction to Derma MD

"Many skin care companies base their entire line around one or two active ingredients, and usually have a specific type of skin they are trying to correct. i.e. pigmentation, rosacea, acne, or fine lines and wrinkles. This is a great idea if you are treating only one type of skin! Everyone's skin type is different and so are their issues and needs. For a LINE to be effective, it must have several active ingredients to provide all the following: ingredients to deep pore cleanse, moisturizing and hydrating ingredients to maintain and increase moisture, antioxidants to protect from free radical damage, peptides to build new collagen, vitamins and mineral to feed and nourish, exfoliating and rejuvenating ingredients to increase cellular turnover and improve texture and skin tone, as well as an array of specialty ingredients to target specific needs or issues. Derma MD contains them all.

Many skin care companies also have a tendency to bring out many lines of products to identify skin types, yet truth be known, this is strictly for increasing their sales revenue. This will happen as a new technological ingredient surfaces. When incorporating the appropriate ingredients into a line of skin care, the majority of them can be used for all skin types, whether it be normal, dry or oily. What is found with most companies, due to not wanting to disturb their existing line, they will incorporate an entirely new line of products, with additives of one or more new ingredients instead of incorporating those same new ingredients into an existing formula to improve upon it. This will definitely confuse the consumer, cost more money and the end result is no more superior.

When we are addressing a specific skin condition, then we need to produce products with therapeutic type of ingredients to target the problem…i.e. Acne, we need to have more ingredients that will target acne P bacteria…for Rosacea, we need to have antioxidants and ingredients that will reduce inflammation, and for pigmentation problems, we incorporate potent lightening and melanin inhibitor agents. What are important are how the ingredients are delivered and the percentages used to get satisfied results. You can rest assured when purchasing Derma MD products, what is in the package is the newest proven ingredients available for that finished product with the highest concentration level of percentages allowed to provide our customers RESULTS." - Information provided to you by dermamdskincare.com, to learn more, click here.

These are a few of my favourite things...

Kiwi Grapefruit Toner

What it is:

A toner created to remove residual grease and oil from the face while conditioning, leaving it soft and hydrated.

Why I love it:

First off, I must comment on the packaging! I love it when you can find a toner that comes in a spray bottle; as it allows you to simply mist the toner on a freshly cleansed face without the use of cotton. With that being said, you may still apply it by misting the toner onto a cotton ball and dabbing the entire facial area. The scent of this product is fruity, soft and delightfully calming. It leaves my face feeling cleansed, hydrated and silky smooth. A must-have for all skin types, especially those who experience excess oil throughout the day.

Active Ingredients:

- Aloe Vera Gel for additional moisture

- Vitamin B for minimization of sun damage

- Witch Hazel Extract for anti-bacterial and anti-inflammatory properties

Eliminate & Lighten Eye Cream

What it is:

A potent combination of glycolic acid, vitamin C, and shea butter work to lighten the under eye area, reduce puffiness, promote new collagen production and reduce fine lines & wrinkles.

Why I love it:

Being half Italian, I get some pretty bad-ass dark circles. I feel as though I am always on the lookout for a new eye cream to help solve this problem. I love this product because it is soft, blend-able and lightweight; leaving my eyes feeling refreshed and awake. Not only does it help lighten the dark pigments around my eye area, but it significantly improves puffiness. I feel as if my makeup glides on smoother when using this product, almost as if the moisture provides a better canvas for my concealer; never allowing it to lift or crease. This eye cream has a mild, beautiful scent. Overall, it is a part of my skincare routine I am excited to use each and every day.

Active Ingredients:

- Kojic Acid to lighten dark pigments

- Vitamin C to promote new collagen production

- Glycolic Acid to reduce lines and wrinkles

Daytime Moisturizer SPF 50

What it is:

This product provides 41 times your natural protection from the sun, blocking UVA and UVB rays while providing moisture retention. *This product is also oil-free!

Why I love it:

When do we EVER see a moisturizer that contains SPF 50!? Sure, maybe a 15 or 25 here and there but 50?! What a wonderful way to keep skin moisturized and protected from sun damage. My excitement does not stop there; this product is also oil-free. I have so many clients that refuse to use a product that contains SPF because it causes them to break out. Fear no more! Derma MD has you covered. When I first tried this product, I expected it to be thick in texture due to the high SPF content. I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was extremely lightweight and easy to blend. This product is also fragrance-free, making it safe to use on even the most sensitive of skins.

Active Ingredients:

- 7.5% Micronized Zinc blocks UVA & UVB rays

- 7.5% Octyl Methoxycinnamate blocks UVB rays

- 2.0% Octyl Salicylate blocks UVB rays

*Please note that this product is NOT paraben-free

Glamour Lip Plump

What it is:

A lip care treatment and plumper that promotes both instant and long-term results while conditioning and restoring the lips.

Why I love it:

I could feel this product working as soon as I applied it. While this product comes in an array of shades, I got to try 'Peach Bellini' (fun fact: this is also my favourite drink!) It smells almost as fantastic as it sounds, and I noticed results right away. The first thing that I noticed was a tingling sensation (don't worry, this is normal!) followed by a smooth and soft texture on my lips. Not only did this product make my lips look fuller, it also filled in any fine lines I experience when my lips are dry. This product can be worn alone or with a lipstick; however, I find that the plumper itself has enough colour and shine to make a statement on its own. I must admit, this is the best plumper I have ever used.

Active Ingredients:

- Hyaluronic Acid Micro-Spheres

- Vitamin E

 

In Closing...

I have nothing but good things to say about this skincare line. I was impressed by the products I was able to test and try over the last few weeks. It is now in your hands to discover what else Derma MD has to offer. I can guarantee there will be something for every skin type out there, along with a remarkable lineup of anti-aging products. You can find the items I featured as well as discover the rest of the line here. As always, thanks for reading and stay tuned!

XOXO

dear lady

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page