top of page
Search
  • dear lady

Mad About LUSH

Howdy readers, and happy hump day to all! Lately, I've been posting a lot about summer and the products you should be using to keep your excess oil under control through this hellish heat that I (not so) secretly wish we were having more of. As you may or may not know, I'm a lover of natural products; which is why I was surprised it took me so long to discover LUSH Handmade Cosmetics.

Here's a little about the brand via their awesome website:

We Believe

...in making effective products from fresh organic* fruit and vegetables, the finest essential oils and safe synthetics.

We believe in buying ingredients only from companies that do not conduct or commission tests on animals and in testing our products on humans.

We invent our own products and fragrances. We make them fresh* by hand using little or no preservative or packaging, using only vegetarian ingredients and tell you when they were made.

We believe in happy people making happy soap, putting our faces on our products and making our mums proud.

We believe in long candlelit baths, sharing showers, massage, filling the world with perfume and the right to make mistakes, lose everything and start again.

We believe our products are good value, that we should make a profit and that the customer is always right.

*We also believe words like “fresh” and “organic” have an honest meaning beyond marketing.

________________________________________

Sounds great, right?

Of course right.

Being a combination-to-oily skin customer myself, I decided to explore some products suitable for my skin type; and man, was I impressed.

Here is what you need in order to survive the season -

Why? Because we could all take a little time to treat our skin, while also fighting against animal testing.

Boom.

Step 1: Herbalism Fresh Cleanser

Why?

Battling with oily, blemish-prone skin? Cleanse with Herbalism and experience the power of herbs. Its gently exfoliating, deep-cleansing base of kaolin clay and rice bran mops up excess oils, and a toning blend of rosemary, nettle and chamomile leaves skin feeling fresh, clean and calm. This gentle green giant contains chlorophyllin, which is extracted from alfalfa plants: it’s rich in nourishing vitamins and minerals, and helps to balance out your skin’s oil production. Say hello to clear, balanced skin!

How to Use:

Dampen your skin with warm water. Break off a piece of your cleanser, and mix with a little warm water to create a paste. Massage onto your face and body, rinse thoroughly and pat dry.

Notes:

*This product is 100% Vegan.

Step 2: Tea Tree Toning Water

Why?

Oily, dull or tired skin brightens up with a routine spritz of Tea Tree Water. Cleansing tea tree, juniper berry and grapefruit waters keep skin looking fresh and balance skin tone. Light and refreshing Tea Tree Water reduces redness and clears excess oil without drying so you can put your best face forward.

How to Use:

Spritz directly on the face after cleansing and use a cotton pad to remove any excess cleanser. To tighten pores, let the toner air dry. Follow with the moisturizer most appropriate for your skin's needs.

Notes:

*This product is 100% Vegan.

Step 3: Vanishing Cream

Why?

If you have oily skin, you still need to moisturize your face! It all comes down to skin care basics; if your face is oily, it’s compensating for something. Set things right with Vanishing Cream. Vanishing Cream contains balancing lavender absolute, pore-tightening witch hazel (which helps brilliantly with eliminating blemishes) and grape seed oil to soften. Use daily to balance oil production for even, clear skin.

How to Use:

After cleansing and toning your face, put a dab on your fingertip and pat gently onto clean, slightly damp skin. A little bit goes a long way. Re-apply as often as needed.

Meet the Expert...

Name: Samantha Mazzuca

Location: LUSH Limeridge Mall, Hamilton, ON

Why you need her in your life:

I instantly liked Samantha the second I met her. Being an extremely outgoing person myself, I love meeting someone I feel like I can say anything to - even if I don't know them at all. Within minutes of entering the store, this girl already had a product in my hand. I didn't feel as if I was buying the product because I was convinced by a good salesperson, I chose the product because she was able to talk to me honestly; it was almost like I was getting advice from a close girlfriend. By learning more about the brand, I knew I wanted to further explore what they had to offer. Sam sat me down with a co-worker of hers in order to receive a proper demonstration. Now this is important: Although she guided me to someone else, she never left my side. This my dears, is great customer service. Sam explained every product that was being used and urged me to feel, smell and experience each item entirely. She wasn't pressuring me to buy anything that day... that wasn't the point. The point was that this individual truly wanted me to find something that would work for me, and when deciding I didn't want to purchase everything, she offered samples.

A+ my dear, A+.

The reason that this experience stood out to me was because sadly, this type of thing doesn't happen every day. The whole purpose of my website; this blog - is to help people in any way I can. It isn't about money, and I find that more often than not, a salesperson is pushing to ultimately get a sale. This can leave you, the customer, confused and disappointed with your purchase. Therefore, by reviewing products or letting someone (anyone!) know what is worth buying - I feel like I am helping, even if it means I'm just pushing someone in the right direction.

Today, that means pointing my lovely readers towards Samantha. Perhaps you don't have oily skin at all; maybe your concern is dryness, uneven skin tone... whatever it may be; I am certain that this rad chick would be more than happy to help. Find her at LUSH in Limeridge mall, or discover the brand yourself here.

Love one another - Love yourself.

Thanks for reading,

Stay tuned.

XOXO

dear lady

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page